Hurray, Today is Earth Day!

by

Well, April is now actually Earth Month. I am only all too aware of this because of the flurry of Earth Month activities for my young son.

While trying to get into the spirit for the month, I thought, why don’t I pick out a book for him on the subject? Apparently there are thousands in the children’s department on Amazon, with just shy of a hundred focusing solely on recycled art projects. In fact, there are now several art programs (independent of Earth Month) now being offered to the toddler set using recycled materials only. I’ve gotten so swept away, that I actually made recycled crayons with my son this weekend. Now… if only I could make that rooftop Victory garden a reality.

While some of this is hype, I am happy to see that teaching children to respect the Earth is as important as teaching them to respect others.

Leave a Reply

